2011 reading : or, go ahead and judge

Yes, I’ve been scarce in these parts. Yes I have a good reason. Patience, rabbit. All will be revealed.

In time-honored tradition, I will now distract you with a list of other people’s books. Specifically those I read (or read again) this year and that come to mind as I type this right now. I read a lot. The list is long. I have left things off that I meant to put on there. There are a number of short stories at the top, many with links, because short stories rock, and you should read some.

There is no order to this. Reason, yes. Rhyme, maybe.

  • Embassytown – China Mieville
  • Among Others – Jo Walton
  • Rainbow’s End – Vernor Vinge
  • Wee Free Men & Hat Full of Sky – Terry Pratchett
  • Farewell Horizontal – K.W. Jeter
  • The Inheritance Trilogy – N.K. Jemisin
  • River of Gods – Ian McDonald
  • The Dervish House – Ian McDonald
  • Ready Player One – Ernest Cline
  • 7th Sigma – Steven Gould
  • Rule 34 – Charles Stross
  • Feed – Mira Grant
  • Zoo City – Lauren Beukes
  • Mechanique – Genevive Valentine
  • REAMDE – Neal Stephenson
  • The Thackery T. Lambshead Cabinet of Curiosities – Ann and Jeff Van Der Meer, eds.
  • Deathless – Catherynne M. Valente

This isn’t a complete list, and it’s not very helpful, but it’s a place to start.  There are more books over thisaway, via goodreads.

7 comments

    1. to you too! I also need to remember to steer you towards The City and The City (Mieville) and Cold Kiss, by Amy Garvey (which I read last year, which is why it’s not on this list)

  1. A most excellent list, and you caught two stories I meant to mention – Our Drunken Tjeng and the Dala Horse. Several of those novels are on my ever-growning to-read list. I shall have to investigate the others. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Hmmm, I already compiled my fave novel-length reading of the year, but now you have me thinking about short stories.

    Not to mention, now I want to check out the short stories you listed :)

  3. So this is why you send me must-reads when my own list runs three years out :)

    But I’ve a light semester and I’ll make a start, as soon as I finish J.G. Ballard’s collected stories…esp. the Mieville, though I was not as happy with Kraken as I was with The City and The City.

    Happy reading in 2012!

Leave a Reply

