Librum Gatherum 2012

screenWhen I think back over what I read this year, these are the stories and collections that most come to mind. They’re by no means all of the best, but they’re a good cross-section.

I’ve skimped on reviews – but Nicole Feld and A.C. Wise haven’t. Go check out their reading lists too. (PS. I totally stole Nicole’s idea for a bookshelf image, though hers is better.)

Novels

  • Seraphina – Rachel Hartman (YA, Fantasy)
  • Bigger than a Breadbox – Laurel Snyder (MG)
  • Splendors and Glooms – Laura Amy Schlitz (MG)
  • Code Name Verity – Elizabeth Wein (Nominally YA)
  • The Pottawomie Giant and Other Stories – Andy Duncan
  • The Night Circus – Erin Mortgenstern
  • The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There – Catherynne M. Valente
  • Throne of the Crescent Moon – Saladin Ahmed
  • Range of Ghosts – Elizabeth Bear
  • Shiver – Maggie Stiefaver
  • Seeker – Jack McDevit

Short Stories 

Anthologies

  • Digital Rapture – James Patrick Kelley and John Kessel, eds.
  • Edge of Infinity – Jonathan Strahan, ed.
  • Bewere the Night – Ekaterina Sedia, ed.

There are a lot more, of course. I’m sure I’ll be smacking my head and wanting to add several in about five minutes.

What were your favorite reads this year?

8 comments

  1. thank you. i love knowing what’s been on your night table. i’ve printed it out (so archaic, i know) and put it on my night table. sorry if that seems stalky and weird but i can never find the notes i make of the books you tell me to read. except the night circus. i remembered that one and loved it. and we saw the cirque du soleil movie the other day which TOTALLY reminded me of the night circus until the the fucking beatles music routines started and everyone was so excited and i was ready to leave. noa’s been listening to srgt pepper ever since. kill. me. now.

    xoxo

    1. Here I was, reading along, sipping my coffee… now I’m wiping coffee off the monitor. So glad you loved The Night Circus! I will remember to leave the Beatles playlist off the iThing for our next outing.

  2. Loved The Night Circus as well. Also Gillespie and I by Jane Harris, Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey, and the The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller. My favorite classic of the year was McTeague by Frank Norris–it’s Zola, but in San Francisco and in English!

  3. See, your post wins because it has pretty pictures. Now my post just looks lazy! Thank you for sharing this; it’s reminded me of all the things I have to add to my to-read list!

Leave a Reply

