Writing on the Road

20130614-101301.jpgWe are back from a road trip today. It was family-focused, and there is more of that in my future, along with summer conventions and other distractions from the natural order.

I was determined to keep to my writing schedule, and I’m finding everyone is pretty sanguine about my disappearing for an hour or two. Added benefits: new facts crept into my writing thanks to unexpected finds at the inn where we stayed (mostly earthenware and metal from the 200-year old midden); the amazing birds – we’ve seen peregrines, osprey, herons, eagles, hawks, and buzzards -; as well as more food scenes, since we have been eating very well. Plus, time to talk with The Chemist gave me a great insight on a particular element in the story.

It’s tough to write on the road, though. This time made harder by the Inn’s quixotic approach to WIFI (apparently there was some, once), and the very dramatic weather (tornado watches, massive storms) – actually, those went into the story too.

How do you stick to a creative schedule when you are on the road?

20130614-100757.jpg

2 comments

  1. On the move on iOS devices, I usually write things in either Simplenote or one of the Dropbox-aware text editors. The good thing about Simplenote is that it is very sync-robust, and is used to the idea that you might put things in when you’re not online. In fact almost all of my short notes, ideas and thoughts are in Simplenote, because I jot them down in Notational Velocity on the desktop as well which syncs to Simplenote.

    Very short notes I also send to Things sometimes, which also has good cloud sync and is helped by the fact that the records are atomic. They usually leave the inbox when I get to a proper keyboard though.

    If it’s a laptop I write normally, because the docs are all in Dropbox folders and I’m sure to sync before I ever want to edit it on another machine. It does require that one syncs before leaving but that’s not a huge problem. (I keep everything I’m currently working on in Dropbox, from text files through textures to Unity projects, and everything keeps in sync like magic.)

Leave a Reply

