May – July Reading

I’ve been hard at work on the next novel, another novella, and a bit more beta reading than usual, so my bookshelf paid the price. I have several wonderful reads to share below – just not as many as last time.

How about you? What good stuff have you been reading?

 

 

 

 

 

Novels -

  • The Killing Moon, N.K. Jeminisn (Orbit) – read it again, for reasons.
  • The Blue Blazes, Chuck Wendig (Angry Robot)
  • The Raven Boys, Maggie Stievfater (Scholastic)

Collections -

  • Conservation of Shadows, Yoon Ha Lee (Prime Books) – Oh my goodness. I love this collection.
  • Shoggoths in Bloom, Elizabeth Bear (Prime Books) –  second time around. A wealth of favorite stories in here.

Short Stories -

Non-Fiction -

  • Washington’s Spies, Alexander Rose (Bantam)
  • The Riddle of the Labyrinth, Margalit Fox (Ecco)
4 comments

  1. I just cracked Jose Saramago’s Blindness. It’s very much lit, but it’s based on a pretty interesting premise. Not for the meek when it comes to the treatment of dialog. But, for me, it falls into the same category as Cormac McCarthy’s The Road: literary authors tackling idea-driven stories.

    1. Oh interesting that you are marking that separation, Jay. I think more literary stories are idea driven that it might seem, but the “what if X happened…” is more submerged. Saramago is a really intriguing writer. I only wish I’d read Blindness before gifting it to my father in law*, and not after (I’d been giving him Booker Prize books for several years). *Not really his cup of tea. I liked it fine.

Leave a Reply

