Here Be Deadlines

This is a flyby post because I’m on deadline (What happens when you go to a writers’ retreat and give a talk about why you love deadlines? You get bigger deadlines.)… which means really good things for 2015, but for right now … aieeeee.

So have some picspam and links to nibble on -

Sheila Williams, the venerable editor of Asimov’s, and her daughters answered 10 Questions for GeekMom. How cool is that? She talks about growing up in science fiction and fantasy, the ins and outs of the editorial process, and the amazing Dell Magazine Award.  (But wait, there’s more! Is Sheila Williams a Geek or a Nerd? Find out!)

My story, “Like a Wasp to the Tongue,” appears in Asimov’s this month. A couple reviews already!

And I’ll be talking about wasps and tech with SFSignal very soon too.

Here’s where I was last week, a writers’ retreat in the Pacific Northwest:

rainforest1

Hard at work at RWV2014 (photo: Andrew Williams)

And here too (Powells Book Store, in Portland OR <3 <3 <3).

powells

the SF signature wall at Powell’s. It’s amazing.

At Rainforest Writers’ Village, I gave a talk on the care & feeding of deadlines that included some really bad drawings. (There was paper and colored markers. Don’t judge.) I explained that, for me, deadlines are the perfect combo of Adrenaline, Guilt, and Armageddon.

I made a stunning visual using the resources to hand, which left my meaning open to some interpretation. (TYVM Jeffrey Peterson!)

photo (43)

That’s glamour right there. With antlers.

So when I got home, I made a new visual. Because this is currently highly relevant to my situation, and why you won’t be seeing me much on social media in the next couple weeks. And if you do, yell at me.

YMMV, but feel free to use the sticker you see fit.

Deadlines

Meantime, over at Novelocity, there’s talk about what author workspaces look like. Here’s my desk, annotated:

And this week, Novelocity’s talking about comfort reads. What are yours?

I hope you guys have a great week and a half or so. Drop me some comments to keep me company!

I’m going to go hammer away at this deadline.

3 comments

  1. Glad to hear you liked our (the decent, hardworking, polite) part of the world. Shame I wasn’t around to invite you to the beautiful Oregon coast, but I’m glad you found Powell’s. I used to live just up the street from the one in NW…

    Congrats on the sale (one of so many)!

  2. I wish I found deadlines energizing. Instead, I feel like I’m constantly stretched too thin and they only pile on more unneeded stress. In any case, good luck with yours! Sounds like the talk at Rainforest was well-received.

Leave a Reply

