“Nine Dishes on the Cusp of Love” at Daily Science Fiction

“Nine Dishes on the Cusp of Love” appears at Daily Science Fiction today and was emailed out to subscribers in the wee hours of the night.

I read this publicly for the first time at Boskone 51 during a group reading with Julie C. Day, Michael J. DeLuca, Sean Robinson, Margaret Ronald, and Hannah Strom-Martin. On Valentine’s Day. After dinner.

I’m on the road today, so if you have questions about the story or how it came to be, leave them here or on tumblr. If you ask, I might tell you about a couple of dishes that didn’t make it into the story…

Until then, here’s a teaser and a link. Bon Appetite:

Nine Dishes on the Cusp of Love

Her: passing through to new horizons, slumming my station’s crowded bar. Me: just off a line-cook shift, eating my free meal. Her teeth flashed, her eyes gleamed, her dress sparkled. I smelled of fish and spice. “Each desired other,” she said later. The bar’s glass and mirrors wove a net of her and caught me, young and fresh.

[keep reading]

2 comments

    1. There were some buggier dishes that I might use in another story. And a couple of dishes that didn’t fit the relationship but were fun to think about producing in space. Of the ones that stayed, I think I would like to see the glowing-blackbird pie the most. What about you?

Leave a Reply

