Loosely related threads & collage


NSW Merry-Go-Round, c. 1910

Sometimes unrelated things really are unrelated. So thinking on multiple tracks leads to a jumble that I have to sort through and guess about until a bit breaks through. The interconnected series of tubes both helps and hinders that process, although I am planning Excursions that will get me off my butt and delving.  In the meantime, here are some glimpses of the jumble.

photo of Kudzu by Bill Emory - http://www.billemory.com

Yes. Merry-Go-Rounds. And kudzu. What’s funny is that in my woolgathering and virtual collaging, I found that they are in fact related, distantly. Kudzu infamously made its debut at the 1876 Centennial Exposition in Philadelphia, as the Japanese solution to erosion control. Yesindeedy. In one of the remaining Centennial Exposition buildings that brought us kudzu, there is now a childrens’ museum that houses a beautiful 1924 Dentzel Carousel. I warned you it was a distant thing.

Centennial Horticultural Hall, 1876 Philadelphia

One more image – that of the Exhibition’s catalog and (I guess) visitor orientation building. Still in use on Philly’s regional rail system – excellent upcycling work, Victorian Philadelphia!

Victorian-era building repurposed as train station

What do all these things have to do with one another? Perhaps absolutely nothing. In any case, I’m looking forward to unraveling the threads, and weaving in my own.

