On Staying Ahead of Technology & ICFA

Where is March going, you guys? It’s a total blur.

I’m still in editorial mode, but tomorrow I am off to ICFA – the International Conference for the Fantastic in the Arts. I’m ridiculously excited about all three guests of honor, writers Nnedi Okorafor and Ian McDonald being regular occupiers of my bookshelf, and guest-scholar Istvan Csicsery-Ronay, Jr. as well. (Yes, I’m also happy it will be warm and not snowing.)

My schedule: Thursday, March 20, 8:30 am in Vista A, Author Reading with Brett Cox (host), Greg Bechtel, Sarah Pinborough & Fran Wilde

If you’re going, I look forward to seeing you there. If not – check out the papers and panels. This is an amazing conference.

Otherwheres, I was asked to guest post about staying ahead of emerging technology over at SF Signal last week. Here’s the teaser – go read the rest – and jump into the discussion, if you’re so inclined.

On Staying Ahead of Evolving Technology (OR: Things Fall Apart)

John DeNardo invited me to talk to SF Signal readers about the sensor wasps that appear in my Asimov’sApril/May 2014 short story “Like a Wasp to the Tongue,” and I’m delighted to do so.

SF writers spend a lot of time thinking about where technology is headed. In particular, we try to stay far, far ahead of where technology might be headed. It’s part of the job description. Personally, I find it a lot of fun. But it isn’t an easy sort of fun. Tech moves faster every day.

In a former life as an engineering and science writer, I learned that one way to get a jump on technology and where it could evolve is to look at the problems that technology (read the rest here...)

Leave a Reply

