Bear & Underwood Giveaways! A few words about Storium!

Earlier this week, Cooking the Books took a road trip – Michael R. Underwood and I piled everything in the car and headed out for new frontiers… Screen Shot 2014-04-11 at 8.52.57 AM

We set up camp at GeekMom to talk about Mike’s latest novella Attack the Geek! Mike brought along a great pizza recipe, as well as a giveaway. There’s still time to enter to win – head on over there.

 

The next day, over at Apex, I interviewed the amazing Elizabeth Bear about Steles of the Sky, the third book in her Eternal Sky series. 

Don’t miss her brilliance about megafauna, teaching, and what’s on the horizon. Then find out how to win a copy of Steles of the Sky for your very own, from Tor (hint: selfie, twitter, various hashtags – easy peasy.)

Screen Shot 2014-04-11 at 8.48.46 AMThen last night, just as I was fixing dinner, I got an email letting me know that I was up as the next stretch goal for the Storium campaign… Or at least a world I created was.  Storium is an online storytelling game that funded in under 24 hours and, on day 3, had already made its first stretch goal.

This is really cool stuff, and it’s especially happy-making for me for a number of reasons. Will you allow me a moment of high-geek? When I first started out as programmer, one of my mentors was (and remains) a trailblazer in the realm of hypertext fiction, Stuart Moulthrop. We’ve had many conversations over the years about what it means to tell stories as a community, using hypertext, graphics, and a web of connectivity between people.

I’ve gone on to have more conversations with digital storytellers worldwide about how best to use the medium. I’ve worked on immersive narratives and multiplayer games. At the same time, I’ve also been working on novels and short stories.

In short, I hadn’t made much headway into hypermedia storytelling, but I was still vastly interested.

And then Storium came along with a fantastic idea: Why not build a platform on which people could tell stories together, using created worlds, narrative, and RPG-style decks and graphics. This took several of the things I love: story, community, and gaming, and smooshed it together (technical term). I thought it was brilliant.

When they asked if I was interested in building a world for the project, it took me approximately zero-point-three seconds to say yes.

My world / narrative is called State Liminal. Here’s the description, along with the next world Storium’s kickstarter will unlock, from Chuck Wendig.  Already unlocked are worlds by Maurice Broaddus, Saladin Ahmed, Mur Lafferty and many more. Check it out! I can’t wait to see all the worlds in play!

storium2

 

 

Leave a Reply

