The Finish Line

setting a high bar...
setting a high bar…

:: warning klaxon :: here be spoilers :: warning ::

I’m thinking a lot about endings again, as one does, repeatedly. How do they work? (Like magnets, right?)

In doing so, I’ve gathered some favorites, and made a widget. Let’s see if we can match the ending with the writer…

(I’ll post the answers next Tuesday in the comments.)

(I wanted to include the last line from Middlemarch, which I love, but it’s really long and the poll wouldn’t do it.)

This quiz was inspired by a friend who is a wonderful reader and did a similar thing with beginnings that totally stumped me.

Et voila – thanks for playing! How’d you do? What’s your favorite ending line?

Your prize: Your very own Fantasy Ending Generator MadLib

8 comments

  1. I have 3 faves – Joyce, E. Bronte, and Raymond Chandler, which is 2 lines: “I never saw any of them again — except the cops. No way has yet been invented to say goodbye to them.”

  2. Mine comes from a novel that has one of my favourite opening lines as well:
    “And the ashes blew towards us with the salt wind from the sea.”

    The first line is even more poetic – a very famous iambic hexameter.

Leave a Reply

