Two Weeks to Go!: Gratitude & Launch Raffle

(so tempting to type Launch Waffle in that headline. BUT! I resisted. It is possible I’m getting a little punchy.)

I had things planned for this week’s post – publicity things because that’s what I need to do… except two things happened.

IMG_5608

Thursday night, this book up there appeared on my doorstep and it’s real (and you’ll have it soon) and it’s shiny… and I lost it a little.

Two days later, I listened to amazing people talk about incredible projects and artists at the Philly Geek Awards (I was a presenter, so I got to talk about them too…) and event co-founder Mikey Ilagen reminded everyone to make connections and share those connections with others.

The next day, a slightly bleary me cleaned up my office and found some old thank you notes from former students and friends and I realized this week is about acknowledgements and gratitude. (And Launch Raffles, yes – more on that in a minute.)

When I started this blog, I made a lot of gratitude posts. I haven’t lately. It’s time. My grandmother told me ages ago, “Never miss an opportunity to tell someone they made a difference in your life.” (She was a champion thank-you note writer.)

In the case of Updraft, the best way I know how to thank the people who have made a difference is to post acknowledgements here. I don’t want it to get lost in the after-launch, and the best way to keep it from getting lost, to my mind, especially with Sasquan starting Thursday, is to post it now. We’ll see how that goes, right?

Before I do, two notes: First, acknowledgements are written long before the book comes out. Sometimes they’re short, sometimes they’re long. I tried to thank as many people as possible in mine, but of course it ran long, and I got a memo saying ‘ehrm, maybe cut it down by ten or so pages?’ So I’ll be thanking more people as the weeks roll by, and more in Cloudbound too. Second, you won’t see The Chemist or The Urchin in the acknowledgements (they’re in the dedication) – but I couldn’t have done this without them. I would not be the person I am without them.

Ok, here goes. In this case, two pictures are worth a thousand words. (and then the previously scheduled raffle news.)

FullSizeRender (7)

IMG_5677

In addition to all these people, a few more thanks. To Aidan Moher for this amazing read of Updraft on A Dribble of Ink, to Eric Smith and BookRiot for Read This, Then These, to everyone about to host me on blog tour, and to Geekadelphia for making me feel so welcome in my home city. To Dan, Stacey, and Emily for so many reasons.

Thank you to every one of you who is boosting the signal, posting a review, or a comment. (And a special thank you to Tor for letting me sneak one tiny pun in at the end of the book and pretending they didn’t notice.)

Ok, now for waffles. I mean raffles.

Updraft is launching in two weeks. On September 1, there’s a launch party at Barnes & Noble, Rittenhouse Square and you’re all invited. There are more events all of Uptember. We’ll talk about Tortober soon.

At the launch, I’ll be raffling off Updraft tower markers and lawsmarkers made with the help of artist Melissa Maddoni Haims, invisible ink, amazing laser-cut tentacle paper art from Blake Conroy, and… a few books from authors including Michael Swanwick, Stephanie Feldman, Jaime Lee Moyer, Jon McGoran, and more, plus several Tor.com novella arcs.

For those of you who can’t make the launch, I’m also raffling off at least two mixed bags containing some of the above items (US only).

HERE’S HOW TO ENTER: post a photo on twitter or Instagram within the first week of launch (Sept. 1-5) of you reading Updraft, with the hashtag #UPDRAFT.

Creativity will be rewarded.**

Here are a couple photos people have sent to me, to inspire you:

IMG_4167
#UPDRAFT on the Highline
IMG_2942
#UPDRAFT on the Appalachian Trail

I’m looking forward to seeing your photos and I’ll try to remember to post a reminder on Sept. 1. This is a heads up so you can *plan* your angle of raffle attack.

Thanks you all – I can’t tell you how much I value your support, your messages, and your sharing your enthusiasm about Updraft.

14 days. I’m so ready/not ready.

Let’s do this.

_____

(**Grossness won’t. Be rewarded, that is.)

2 comments

Leave a Reply

