New Short Story up at Uncanny Magazine ~ and ~ Cloudbound Paperback out today!

There’s a lot of things going on and I’m just back from Dragoncon, so I’ll update more with the newsletter shortly (as soon as I find my charging cable).

MEANTIME.

I have a new story up online today. I’m still trying to find ways to write about it, so you’ll probably hear more on this topic in the now-and-then.

The story is called “Clearly Lettered in a Mostly Steady Hand,” and  I’m so grateful to Michael Damian Thomas, Lynne Marie Thomas, Michi Trota, the crew at Uncanny Magazine, and all of Uncanny’s readers for giving this new story the perfect home. It is personal, it is angry, and I am learning to not apologize for that.

“Clearly Lettered in a Mostly Steady Hand” – Uncanny September 2017

Entrance

There’s a ticket booth on my tongue.

Don’t look in my eyes, don’t plead curiosity, you won’t get anywhere with that. Try it and you’ll see your reflection in my sea-green gaze: your shadow sprinting through the heavy glass doors. You’ll smell a whiff of brine, perhaps something more volatile. You’ll be caught and held, while your likeness departs. You don’t want that.

No one wants to be pinned between an entrance and an exit, unless you’re part of the show. (read more)

I’m incredibly grateful to Amal El-Mohtar for her beautiful reading of “Clearly Lettered in a Mostly Steady Hand,” on the Uncanny podcast.

Uncanny Magazine is such a powerful good in the universe. And this issue — with gorgeous stories by Nora Jemisin, Delia Sherman*, Claire Suzanne Elizabeth Cooney, Catherynne M. Valente*, Malinda Lo, Vina Prasad*; stunning poetry from Brandon O’Brien, Ali Trotta*, Jo Walton, Gwynne Garfunkle*; and essays by Sabrina Vourvoulias, Sarah Kuhn, and Sam J. Miller — this issue, you guys…
(*not out until October, unless you’re a subscriber!)

It’s so astoundingly, stunningly Uncanny.

I’m going to continue to try to pull together some more thoughts on “Clearly Lettered in a Mostly Steady Hand,” soon, but if you have thoughts, reactions, or like the story enough to share it, I’d be much obliged. 

BUT WAIT, THERE’S MORE

Today is also the day that CLOUDBOUND comes out in (delightfully affordable) paperback – just in time for pairing with UPDRAFT in preparation for HORIZON’s launch at the end of September! I saw a copy at Dragoncon and it looked absolutely perfect.

Even better, I get to have my paperback launch with the likes of Max Gladstone’s awesome Ruin of Angels, Eric Smith’s Welcome Home Anthology, Ferret Steinmetz’s dark thriller, The Uploadedand Martha Brockenbrough’s young adult novel, Alexander Hamilton: Revolutionary, among many other great titles.

I’m also getting prepared to introduce my dear friend Katherine Locke’s new young adult novel, The Girl With The Red Balloon tomorrow night! See you there, if you’re nearby!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

